Professional GMing Advice

I’ve been working as a Pro GM for a few years, and have managed to develop it into my primary source of income. I have been surprised at the wide range of clients and gigs I have encountered doing this, but I’ve picked up some helpful habits that seem to apply no matter the scenario. I’d love to hear what others have landed upon as helpful in their pro GMing, and I am more than happy to answer any questions people have.

So without further ado, here are some practices that I have found helpful:

• Be Proactive with Scheduling: This one is a no brainer, but it’s easy to lose track of. Ask client’s when they want to schedule the next session, or confirm that the next scheduled session is still on if you have an ongoing campaign; confirm with the client at least a day before a session; keep a calendar, preferably a digital one.

• Confirm the Play Space: Whether you’re running online or in person, you want to know what the play space will be like first. If online, confirm the VTT (if one is being used), what communication apps will be used, and what devices people will be on; for in person you want to know how the big the table you’ll be using is and what the room you’ll be in is like, anything else that might be going on concurrently, what pets may be around, and what the parking situation will be (both so you know if you’ll have to pay for it and so you can judge the distance you’ll have to carry game materials). Knowing what the space will be like let’s you prepare the right amount of material, as too much or too little is detrimental whether running virtually or IRL.